10 more Congmen split, BJP now 27, GF/Ind may be out

आनीक 10 काँग्रेसी फुटले, भाजपा 27 चेर, अपक्ष/गोवा फॉर्वर्डाच्या हातांत दिवपाक शकतात नाल्ल!

10 Jul 2019 09:13 PM

Finally it happened. 10 Congress MLAs are out from the party. They will now become part of the BJP. And the ruling party will become 27-member strong.

As a result, BJP may end the ruling coalition, dropping three ministers of Goa Forward and two independents. All 10 MLAs have left for Delhi to meet Amit Shah.

Some new ministers may be sworn in by Thursday evening while dropping Goa Forward and independent ministers.

Amidst heavy rains, political activity gained momentum on Wednesday since morning.

And finally the 10 Congress MLAs led by opposition leader Babu Kavalekar and newly elected Congress MLA Babush Monseratte reached the Assembly complex to merge their third group in the BJP.

While Governor is airdashing Goa at midnight, four new ministers could be sworn in by Thursday.

Three ministers of Goa Forward and independent minester Rohan Khaunte could be dropped. Govind Gaude will continue and Deputy Speaker Michael Lobo could be inducted.

 Total 10 MLAs comprise of two third of the party, which becomes a legal split. The five Congress MLAs remaining out are seniors like Prataspsing Rane, Ravi Naik, Digambar Kamat, Luizinho Faleiro and Alex Reginald Lourenco. And the 10 who have split are

Nilkanth Halarnkar, Tivim

Babush Monserratte, Panaji

Jennifer Monserratte, Taleigao

Tony Fernandes, St Cruz

Francis Silveira, St Andre

Wilfred D’Sa, Nuvem

Clefacio Dias, Cuncolim

Philip Neri Rodrigues, Velim

Babu Kavalekar, Quepem

Isidore Fernandes, Canacona

With this, the BJP now becomes 27-member strong in the 40-member House. It had earlier 17 members and now the new 10 members of the Congress who have split.

No need of a coalition government. It’s not known what position Goa Forward and three independents will take. But the Assembly would be now like this.

BJP                                         27

Congress                             5

Goa Forward                      3

MGP                                      1

NCP                                       1

Independents                   3

Meanwhile, Curtorim MLA Alex Reginald Lourenco has thrown his hat to lead the Congress party in Goa. He feels it’s a disaster for Goa’s politics but hopes that people will teach them a lesson. 

Desk: Glenn Costa | Camera: Amar Chawaria | Editing: Jaidatt Dessai

What do you feel

Click here