BJP defeats BJP, Kritesh-Parab out in Mormugao

13 Jun 2019 05:27 PM

The BJP has defeated BJP in Vasco. Urban Development Minister Milind Naik’s municipal chairperson and vice chairperson were finally voted out on Thursday by a group of councillors led by Vasco BJP MLA Carlos Almeida. It was 13 against 11. One councillor was absent.

One such attempt last month on 14th was foiled on technical grounds. The disputed voting on the motion was considered invalid by the Director of Municipal Administration.

Incidentally, Milind Naik is holding this ministry.

But the councilors of his party colleague Carlos remained united and voted out chairperson Kritesh Gaonkar and vice-chairperson Shashikant Parab on Thursday.

Madgao Chief Officer Siddhivinayak Naik along with Mormugao chief officer Agnelo Fernandes presided over the proceedings.

Reporter: HIru Mahale | Desk: Rosario Soares

What do you feel

Click here