06 Oct 2022 06:18 PM

A total of 19 candidates are in the fray for ZP bye-polls scheduled on 16th October. Thursday was the last date to file nominations which saw most nominations being filed.

 The BJP, Congress, AAP and independents have fielded their candidates in poll-bound Davorlim, Cortalim and Reis-Magos constituencies.

 In Cortalim, Merciana Vas, wife ofCortalim MLA Antonio filed her nomination in presence of her supporters. Aam Admi Party candidate John D’Sa also filed his nomination,backed by former MLA Alina Saldhana. Surprisingly, the ruling BJP has decided to stay out of the Cortalim election ring.  

In Davorlim, there was a last-minute rush to file nominations. BJP candidate Paresh Naik filed his nomination in presence of local MLA Ulhas Tuenkar,followed by Congress candidate LeoncioRaikar and AAP candidate Siddhesh Bhagat.

Congress will undoubtedly win the Davorlim seat but we will have to wait and watch for the other two, South Goa MP FransicoSardinha said. 

What do you feel

Click here